Lisa Frost

Five years ago, all of our lives were changed.

I can tell you where I was and what I did on September 11, 2001. But this post is not about me. This post is about one of the 2,996 victims of that day. This is about Lisa Frost.

Lisa Frost

Lisa Frost was 22 years old, and a recent graduate of Boston University. She earned degrees in communications and business hospitality, and was a valedictorian (summa cum laude) at graduation.

While at BU, Lisa was dedicated to helping others. She worked as a student advisor and also a peer counselor. She also studied abroad in Sydney, Australia. She was described by fellow students as “intelligent,” “fun loving,” “compassionate,” and “devoted.” Professors told Lisa’s parents that she was “a gem,” and even said “I wish I could clone your daughter.” Her father, Tom Frost, called her “a perfect daughter.”

Lisa Frost was, without a doubt, a blessing to this world. On September 11, 2001, she boarded United Airlines Flight 175. She was flying home, to visit her parents in Rancho Santa Margarita, California, and then was starting a job in San Francisco.

That was not to be. Instead, terrorists hijacked Flight 175 and crashed it into the South Tower of the World Trade Center. The terrorists thought they had killed thousands and broken the American spirit. They were wrong.

Those thousands still live on in spirit, including Lisa. The community of Rancho Santa Margarita remembered Lisa with a memorial near a lake.

Memorial

Lisa’s father, Tom Frost, has told people to remember Lisa through volunteering and helping others, to “bring some good out of it.” At the BU Memorial website, hundreds of comments were left by those who will always remember Lisa. She also helped inspire a technical writer’s turn to freelance, which you can find at the following:

http://www.absolutewrite.com/freelance_writing/ad_arma.htm

Lisa Frost was only 22 years old when she was murdered by terrorists on that beautiful September morning. However, in those 22 years, she touched hundreds of lives and helped countless people in many ways. We should be so lucky to do the same in our lives.

Follow Tom Frost’s advice. Help someone today, volunteer, join a group dedicated to assisting others. Do it for Lisa.

Lisa, we will always remember you.

(Thank you to those who helped in this tribute, including the commenters on my previous post.)

33 Responses to “Lisa Frost”

  1. Kate Says:

    Thank you for helping to introduce people to Lisa, so that she can live on in our collective memories.

    I did not know Lisa, but I did know her aunt Jane, and Lisa is one of the four victims representative of 9/11 in my mind.

    I am proud and humbled to be a part of the 2996 blogger family. I invite you to read my own tribute, to Ruth McCourt at my blog and welcome your comments. My daughter has a tribute post up as well, for David Nelson, at her blog (http://www.naebunny.net/~missylemur/).

    God bless.

  2. Ingrid Says:

    Dear Sean,
    Thanks so much for your comment. This is a lovely tribute to Lisa Frost.
    Your father was a firefighter? do you live in NYC? You can email me if you like at ingridspangler@nyc.rr.com
    My tribute is up at
    http://ingridspangler.blogspot.com/2006/09/in-memory-of-gerard-duffy.html

  3. Driving In Traffic » 9-11 and the 2996 Project Says:

    […] Lisa Frost is remembered by The Holding Pattern […]

  4. Fred Says:

    http://fredordead.blogspot.com/2006/09/in-memory-of-lt-michael-n-fodor-53-of.html

    Sean your post is beautiful – very moving indeed – you helped me so much with my own post about Michael and he is smiling down at you now.

    Please visit LT Michael Fodor by clicking on the above link.

  5. laura Says:

    sean – that was beautiful. i walked with my daughter to the plaque that was set up next to that lake to honor lisa. it was very real, and very sad. let me know if you would like a copy of the pictures that i took. it was early in the day, but the flowers and notes were already piling up.

    she was a lovely girl.

  6. Mimi Says:

    I worked at BU during the time she was there – I didn’t know her well at all, but I mentored several of her close friends through their studies. The light that she shined in their lives was brighter than you can imagine. I attended a very personal memorial service with her friends and family. While Lisa was just 22, she did more, loved more and laughed more than many 88 year olds. Her light went out far too early – -and will never, never be forgotten.

  7. Jimmy Reilly Says:

    Thank you. You did a beautiful job honoring Lisa’s memory.

  8. Lisa Says:

    How very sad. 22 years old, and so vibrant an individual. there are no words. Thank you for sharing her with us today.

  9. clayton Says:

    this is very beautiful. lisa is shining down from heaven and is very proud and honored and happy. GOD BLESS U LISA
    clayton

  10. 600rr cbr honda Says:

    600rr cbr honda

    ha-rd-po-rn-fu-ck 85830 Description of 600rr cbr honda.

  11. o2 mobile phone Says:

    o2 mobile phone

    Value source for o2 mobile phone.

  12. chicken hatch Says:

    chicken hatch

    Variants of chicken hatch.

  13. Mercedes Says:

    Mercedes AMG

    2008 Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG

  14. VALLARY TOWNSELL Says:

    I WENT TO HIGH SCHOOL WITH LISA AND SHE WAS GOOD FRIENDS WITH OLDER SISTER EVELYN.

    I AM NOW WORKING AS A LOCAL NEWS REPORTER AND WOULD LOVE TO DO A STORY ON HER FOR THIS YEARS 911 ANNIVERSARY. I WOULD LOVE TO HEAR BACK FROM YOU VIA E-MAIL SO THAT WE MAY ARRANGE AN ENGAGMENT.

    PLEASE E-MAIL ME AT VALLARY_TOWNSELL@YAHOO.COM IF YOU ARE INTERSTED.

    SINCERELY,
    VALLARY TOWNSELL
    THHS ALUMNI

  15. Hinrich Meister Says:

    I do not know Lisa Frost, I only saw her photo in the newspapers, after these terrible attacks. I am from Germany, and I love the USA, it is such a nice country. I remember how shocked I was. I saw her photo in our local paper, this beautiful and cute smile in her face in this photo, I was so sad in those days. All these victims – God bless them. Indeed, Lisa’s light went out far too early. We will never forget all the victims of 9/11! God bless you all,

    Sincerely,
    Hinrich from Germany

  16. Ian Branson Says:

    I never knew Lisa. Only this morning as I went to register my kids for high school did I come to know her. In the years following that infamous day, I had no idea that I had lived across the street from the high school that held her memory high. As I filled out the forms for my kids, I saw her graduation photo on the wall. It was affixed to a plaque with an eagle, an inscription, and some names and years. I knew immediately this was to be a commemorative plaque and this young girl must have died. It was the plaque dedicated to the scholarship in her name set up by Tom, presumably her father. I read the inscription, and the story of Flight 175, and of her tragic end. I shook my head in disgust that such a brilliant light was extinguished by a cowardly act. It said on the plaque that her GPA was 4.62 and that she graduated salutatorian, the second highest honor bestowed upon a graduate. Such a loss is felt by the whole world who would benefit from her goodness. All of that education, that dedication, that spirit thoughtlessly discarded by a narrow few bent on evil being passed off as righteous zeal. I hope her legacy lives on in the scholarship.

  17. Scott B Mansfield Says:

    I am a former Rancho Santa Margarita resident. I was living in RSM on September 11, 2001. As a resident in her hometown, I learned alot about her after her death even thought I did not know her in life. She stood for all that is good in this world. Everytime I walk around the RSM lake, I stop to read the memorial plaque about Lisa. Whoever I’m with, I let them know who this woman was in life and everything she stood for.
    Lisa’s flame was extingished far to soon on this earth. I’m sure she has eternal life in heaven. Everytime I drive back into RSM, she is the first person I think of. God bless her heart!

  18. Becky Says:

    Lisa, you are still remembered today. I too was a resident of RSM in 2001 and lived on the lake where her memorial is. I attended Trabuco Hills as well and I never had the pleasure of meeting her personally, Lisa struck a chord in my heart and will never, ever be forgotten.

    Becky
    Seattle, WA.

  19. Leanne Watkins Says:

    Lisa lived in the same house for most of her life. And yet most people who sign her memorials state they never knew her. No one finds this a little strange? There is no record of a Lisa Frost ever being born to Thomas Frost and Melanie Anderson (Mrs. Frost’s maiden name) She’s a photoshop job. Don’t spill tears over something that never existed.

  20. Felicia Says:

    Hey there, Leanne. I don’t know who you are. But I did know Lisa Frost. I was a teacher at Trabuco Hills High School. She was indeed an amazing young woman. Her senior year she was the Key Club President, for which I was the advisor. She planned activities so that our members could go out into the community and help people in need. Even if there were no volunteers for a particular activity, she went alone. She spent so much time at the soup kitchen in Costa Mesa it makes my head spin. How dare you say she never existed. You are wrong and should be ashamed of yourself.

  21. Cassie Says:

    I did not personally know Lisa Frost, but when i was at a 5k race in Buena Park, California was when i met her dad. Everyone was warming up at the start line when her dad noticed my Trabuco Hills High School Cross Country sweatshirt. He asked me about the cross country team because he said that his daughter graduated from Trabuco Hills High School and that was when he told me about his daughter, Lisa Frost and how she died on one of the planes on 9/11. I felt terrible for his lose. We talked until he race started and at the end of the race he gave me a button with his daughter’s picture on it and I have kept it for two years now. I hope that everyone will take time on this 10th anniversary to remember all the victims and all the people who have been affected by this tragedy.

  22. auto modif Says:

    auto modif…

    […]Lisa Frost « The Holding Pattern[…]…

  23. facebook güzelleri,facebook,girls Says:

    facebook güzelleri,facebook,girls…

    […]Lisa Frost « The Holding Pattern[…]…

  24. endless traffic tap Says:

    endless traffic tap…

    […]Lisa Frost « The Holding Pattern[…]…

  25. Acupuncture for buttock pain Says:

    Acupuncture for buttock pain…

    […]Lisa Frost « The Holding Pattern[…]…

  26. constipation in dogs Says:

    constipation in dogs…

    […]Lisa Frost « The Holding Pattern[…]…

  27. handjob blog Says:

    handjob blog…

    […]Lisa Frost « The Holding Pattern[…]…

  28. jablka recepty Says:

    jablka recepty…

    […]Lisa Frost « The Holding Pattern[…]…

  29. Avril Dawn Says:

    Avril Dawn…

    […]Lisa Frost « The Holding Pattern[…]…

  30. online zoufale manzelky Says:

    online zoufale manzelky…

    […]Lisa Frost « The Holding Pattern[…]…

  31. moshe Says:

    moshe…

    […]Lisa Frost « The Holding Pattern[…]…

  32. Dave Nagel Says:

    I was reading Cassie’s note : ) about how Tom Frost noticed her Trabuco Hills High School Cross Country sweatshirt at a 5K race in Buena Park in 2011. What an honour to meet Mr. Frost and what a special experience. My wife and I prayed for the Frost family when we visited ground zero in Summer 2012. That was a special moment for us. In October 2013 while going on vacation to California it was an honour to fly there on United Airlines with Lisa in mind. Visiting Holy Sepulcher Cemetery in Orange, Lisa’s memorial at RSM Lake, and walking down her street in RSM were all reverent experiences. So wanted to greet Tom Frost at his door and offer words of encouragement, but wasn’t sure it would be appropriate, so out of respect passed on that opportunity.

    Please keep The Frost Family in prayer.

    Dave Nagel, Ontario, Canada

  33. Dave Nagel Says:

    Sorry Cassie. When I read your post again I realized that you had met Mr. Frost in Buena Park in 2009.

    One thing I forgot to mention in my January 2014 post is that when I visited Lisa’s memorial at RSM Lake, a few very young children came up to me smiling as I was reading the plaque. With their dad nearby they, one by one, enthusiastically told me how old they were (3, 4 and 5). They asked me what I was reading to which I thoughtfully replied that they should make sure to read it when they get older. As I remained there re-reading and thinking, the children came up to me again and once again declared their ages enthusiastically. I repeated my encouragement for them to make sure to read the plaque when they were older. What a special moment that was.

    Thank-you to the others who have posted appropriate comments.

    Dave Nagel Ontario, Canada

Leave a Reply

